Bookmark and Share

News Article


BCG Board elects new leader

Berriwillock farmer Caroline Welsh was officially elected as BCG’s new Board Chairperson on June 18.

Caroline, who farms with her husband John Renney and his cousin’s Kim and Nyree Renney, filled the vacancy left when the Board’s inaugural chairman Ian McClelland stepped down. After holding the position since 1992, Ian decided not to re-nominate for a further term but will continue as a board member.

Caroline has a degree in Agricultural Science, a Master of Business (Agribusiness) and has been serving as a member of the BCG Board since 2007. She is currently employed by the Department of Primary Industries at Swan Hill.

As an agricultural professional, Caroline has over 18 years experience working in the agriculture sector. During her career she has been involved in industry development, export marketing, extension, irrigation and most recently, the regional implications of climate change. In 1998 Caroline received a Churchill Fellowship that saw her travel to Asia, South Africa and Chile to investigate potential markets and competitors for Swan Hill's fresh stone fruit exports.

Caroline’s interests include group extension techniques, sustainability of our local farming systems in a changing climate and community events.


Stephen Jefferies

At its most recent meeting the BCG Board was also pleased to welcome its newest member, Dr Stephen Jefferies who has replaced Nigel McGuckian.

Originally from Tasmania, Steve, who has been based in Adelaide for many years, has PhD in Agricultural Science.

Over the past 27 years, he has held positions in oat, barley and wheat breeding, undergraduate and post graduate teaching, research management and business management. Steve led the establishment of Australian Grain Technologies Pty Ltd (AGT), Australia’s largest and market leading wheat breeding company. He has been AGT’s CEO since its inception in 2002. He is also chairman of the Australian End Point Royalty Steering Committee and a member of the Wheat Classification Council – Wheat Quality Australia, which is now responsible for managing the wheat quality class system in Australia.


The Board warmly welcomed Steve and in response he indicated that he was looking forward to bringing his grains, breeding and interstate experience to the BCG Board and team.

The June meeting of the Board also saw the re-election of Andrew Weidemann as vice chairperson, Noel Meney as treasurer, David Chamberlin as secretary and John Ferrier as public officer.

 Website by CeRDI  |  Design by Bezgroup